HomeCoursesFood science and productionCertificate III in Baking
Certificate III in Baking
This qualification trains you to work as a baker in a commercial bakery, producing bread, cakes, pastry and biscuits to a consistent standard.

- Duration: 2 years to 3 years
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: FBP30521
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- 2 years to 3 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $16,100
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Federation University Australia
- Campuses
- 23 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Many students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and some say student support and communication fall short. Others value the facilities, trainers and course content.
- Campuses
- Shepparton - Fryers Street
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Block release on campus & workplace
- Full fee
- $27,300
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Canberra Institute of Technology
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the trainers and teaching highly, and most also rate the cost and value well. Many like the course content, though a number of students had mixed views on the teaching.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in baking and food production
- a careful approach to food safety and hygiene
- good hand skills for shaping dough and pastry
- the ability to follow recipes and schedules
What will you learn?
You learn the practical techniques behind each product family, including yeast breads, laminated and non laminated pastry, sponges, puddings and cookies, plus artisan and specialty flour breads. Food safety and workplace health and safety run through everything, since bakery work has to meet state and territory regulations. You also learn to schedule production so a day's baking comes out on time and in the right order.
- Food safety and hygiene
- Bread making
- Pastry production
- Cakes and sponges
- Biscuits and cookies
- Production scheduling
Units of competency (15 core, 4 elective)
The qualification is made up of 19 units. Everyone completes the 15 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for FBPFSY2002…
Loading the details for FBPFSY2002…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Baker

Baker
Bakers mix, shape and bake bread, cakes and pastries to a daily production schedule, keeping the shelves full and the standard consistent from batch to batch.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,417
- Full-time share
- 66%
- Employment size
- 18,700 workers
- Average age
- 36 years
- Average full-time hours
- 43 hours
- Gender share
- 28% female
- Future growth
- +8%
- Job market
- In shortage (national)
Complete the baking trade training and required workplace or apprenticeship arrangements; comply with food-safety and workplace requirements. This catalogue groups awards: verify the chosen provider, programme and intake; the family-level link is not confirmation that every offering is approved.
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

