HomeCoursesHairdressing and barberingCertificate III in Barbering
Certificate III in Barbering
This is the trade qualification for barbering, and it covers the full range of cutting and grooming work a barber does in a shop.
- Duration: 8 months to 3 years
- Study mode: On campus and workplace based
- Course code: SHB30516
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 93 campuses
- Duration
- 8 months to 3 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $11,810
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,130, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 10 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $13,130
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- Geelong City Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $14,230
- Eligible students: subsidised from $3,919, concession $787
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in men's hair and grooming
- steady hands and good hand-eye coordination
- an eye for shape and detail
- enjoyment of talking with clients
What will you learn?
Students learn clipper work, scissor cutting, fading and layering, beard and moustache shaping, wet shaves and head shaves, plus the shampooing and grooming services that go with them. The course also covers the parts of the job that keep a chair busy: consulting with clients, recommending styles, treating scalp and hair conditions, handling payments, and building a regular clientele. There are no entry requirements, so you can start without prior hairdressing experience.
- Clipper cutting and fades
- Scissor cutting and layering
- Beard and moustache shaping
- Wet shaves and head shaves
- Client consultation and care
- Building a client base
Units of competency (21 core, 5 elective)
The qualification is made up of 26 units. Everyone completes the 21 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for BSBSUS201…
Loading the details for BSBSUS201…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

