Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesHorticultureCertificate III in Floristry

Certificate III in Floristry

This qualification teaches you to design and build the arrangements a florist sells, from hand tied bunches and wired pieces to designs worked into a base such as foam or a container.

Illustration of a person working as florist
  • Duration: 6 months to 18 months
  • Study mode: On campus
  • Course code: SFL30115

Where you can study this course

Where
  • Campuses
    13 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.

  • Campuses
    11 campuses
    Duration
    6 months to 18 months
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    $10,870
    Eligible students: subsidised from $2,130, concession $240

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    South Bank
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    On campus
    Full fee
    $9,265
    Eligible students: subsidised from $4,225, concession $2,545

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

  • Campuses
    26 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.

  • Campuses
    4 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.

  • Campuses
    Geelong City Campus
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Not stated by provider
    Full fee
    $16,641
    Eligible students: subsidised from $2,914, concession $583

    What students say

    Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.

  • Campuses
    Glen Waverley
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    On campus
    Full fee
    $15,624
    Eligible students: subsidised from $5,720, concession $1,144

    What students say

    Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.

  • Canberra Institute of Technology

    Visit provider website (opens in a new tab)
    Campuses
    6 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students praise the trainers and teaching highly, and most also rate the cost and value well. Many like the course content, though a number of students had mixed views on the teaching.

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

There are no entry requirements for this qualification.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • an interest in flowers and plants
  • a creative eye for colour and shape
  • good hand skills for arranging and wiring
  • customer service skills for taking briefs and selling

What will you learn?

You learn to identify flowers and foliage, condition and store stock so it lasts, and keep tools and equipment in good order, which is most of what fills a florist's day. Alongside the hands-on work you practise taking a customer's brief, quoting a price and selling the finished piece, including for weddings and other events where the brief is more detailed. It suits someone starting out in a retail shop, studio or online floristry business, and no prior experience is required to enrol.

  • Hand tied bouquets
  • Wired and foam arrangements
  • Flower and plant identification
  • Conditioning and storing stock
  • Reading a design brief
  • Quoting and selling

Units of competency (16 core, 5 elective)

The qualification is made up of 21 units. Everyone completes the 16 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for CUVACD201A

Career pathways

Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).