HomeCoursesRetailCertificate III in Retail
Certificate III in Retail
This certificate suits people working in retail who are ready to take on more than serving customers.

- Duration: 4 months to 6 months
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: SIR30216
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 9 campuses
- Duration
- 4 to 6 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $6,910
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,450, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students found the course content frustrating and the trainers and teaching lacking, and a number questioned the cost and value, while many value the student support, though opinions on the content are mixed.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Open Colleges
- Campuses
- Not yet checked
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Axiom College
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and teaching highly, and many value the student support. A number of students found communication frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Salford College
- Campuses
- 3 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students speak highly of the student support, and many rate the trainers and teaching well, while some found the organisation and admin frustrating and a few had issues with communication and value for money.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Central Regional TAFE
- Campuses
- Exmouth
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Online
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in helping customers find what they need
- patience for handling difficult customer situations
- good communication skills for working with customers and teammates
- a careful attitude to safety and security on the shop floor
What will you learn?
You learn to handle difficult customer situations, build repeat business, sell to what a customer actually needs, and manage security and safety on the shop floor. Teamwork runs through it as well, because roles at this level often involve supervising other staff and keeping day-to-day store operations moving. The skills apply across supermarkets, department stores, specialty shops and quick service restaurants.
- Serving and selling to customers
- Handling customer complaints
- Building customer loyalty
- Working in a retail team
- Store security and risk
- Workplace health and safety
Units of competency (8 core, 5 elective)
The qualification is made up of 13 units. Everyone completes the 8 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for SIRXCEG001…
Loading the details for SIRXCEG001…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Retail Assistant

Retail Assistant
Retail assistants serve customers on the shop floor, work the register and keep stock moving in stores from supermarkets to boutiques.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,241
- Full-time share
- 25%
- Employment size
- 562,000 workers
- Average age
- 23 years
- Average full-time hours
- 41 hours
- Gender share
- 65% female
- Future growth
- +7%
- Job market
- Not in shortage
Retail service training; meet any employer-specific product and workplace requirements.
Where this fits
Certificate III in Retail in retail: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
You are looking at
Certificate III in Retail
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
