HomeCoursesFitness and sportCertificate IV in Outdoor Leadership
Certificate IV in Outdoor Leadership
You learn to plan and lead outdoor activity sessions, from choosing a route and checking the forecast to briefing a group and keeping it together on the day.

- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: SIS40621
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 40 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- Mooloolaba
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $10,370
- Eligible students: subsidised from $5,995, concession $5,080
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Glen Waverley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $19,344
- Eligible students: subsidised from $10,608, concession $2,122
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Avondale University
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Campuses
- 7 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Chisholm Institute
- Campuses
- 7 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with student support and course content. Some students found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Envirotech Education
- Campuses
- Envirotech Education
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, with many also valuing student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and a number mentioned communication and cost.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in spending time outdoors
- a willingness to take responsibility for others
- good communication skills
- the ability to stay calm under pressure
What will you learn?
Much of the study is about risk: spotting hazards, controlling them, and coordinating a response when something goes wrong, including search and rescue. Because leaders often work in remote areas where phone coverage is patchy, you also cover communications systems, weather and environmental conditions, and looking after the equipment you rely on. It suits people who already spend time outdoors and want to take responsibility for others, and it opens up work with commercial, not-for-profit and government providers.
- Planning outdoor sessions
- Risk and hazard control
- Reading weather and conditions
- Leading groups
- Emergency response and rescue
- Equipment maintenance
Units of competency (12 core, 15 elective)
The qualification is made up of 27 units. Everyone completes the 12 core units below, and the remaining 15 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for HLTWHS003…
Loading the details for HLTWHS003…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Outdoor Adventure Guide

Outdoor Adventure Guide
Outdoor adventure guides lead groups through hiking, climbing, kayaking and canyoning, and decide when the weather or the group means turning back.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,298
- Full-time share
- 69%
- Employment size
- 4,300 workers
- Average age
- 36 years
- Average full-time hours
- 45 hours
- Gender share
- 36% female
- Future growth
- +12%
- Job market
- In shortage (national)
Employers usually also expect a current first aid certificate and activity-specific skills or ratings for the activities you guide. The award alone does not confer any licence; check the provider's accreditation and what your employer requires.
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
