HomeCoursesProperty and real estateCertificate IV in Real Estate Practice
Certificate IV in Real Estate Practice
The Certificate IV in Real Estate Practice is the qualification most people complete to work as a real estate agent, property manager, buyer's agent or auctioneer.
- Duration: 4 months to 18 months
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: CPP41419
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 9 campuses
- Duration
- 4 months to 18 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $8,670
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,960, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Entry Education
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, with course content and trainers also rated highly. Some found organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)

Chisholm Institute
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $6,563
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with student support and course content. Some students found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

National Skills Pty Ltd
- Campuses
- National Skills Pty Ltd
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the student support highly, many praise the organisation and admin, and many value the communication.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Bendigo Regional Institute of TAFE
- Campuses
- Bendigo TAFE Library
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Licensing for real estate work depends on your state or territory. Choose yours to see what applies.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in property and how it is bought and sold
- good communication skills for dealing with many different people
- a careful approach to paperwork and record keeping
- an ethical mindset when handling other people's money and decisions
What will you learn?
It covers the legal and ethical side of the job: reading and applying state property legislation, keeping trust accounts accurate, and managing risk for an agency. You also learn how to market a property and an agency, and how to build and maintain relationships with vendors, buyers, landlords and tenants across residential and commercial work. There are no entry requirements, but licensing rules apply in every state and territory, so check with your local regulator before you enrol.
- Property legislation and compliance
- Ethical practice and conduct
- Trust account management
- Property marketing and communication
- Client relationship building
- Residential and commercial property
Units of competency (5 core, 13 elective)
The qualification is made up of 18 units. Everyone completes the 5 core units below, and the remaining 13 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPPREP4001…
Loading the details for CPPREP4001…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
