HomeCoursesBeautyDiploma of Beauty Therapy
Diploma of Beauty Therapy
A diploma in beauty therapy prepares you to work as a beauty therapist in a salon or spa, covering a full menu of treatments rather than one speciality.

- Duration: 4 months to 1 year
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: SHB50121
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 35 campuses
- Duration
- 4 months to 1 year
- Study mode
- Combination
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $10,765
- Eligible students: subsidised from $8,480, concession $7,790
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- Geelong City Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $20,083
- Eligible students: subsidised from $10,917
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in skin, hair and nails
- a friendly and welcoming manner with clients
- good communication and listening skills
- an eye for detail and tidy work
What will you learn?
You learn facial treatments and skin analysis, body massage, waxing, lash and brow work, nails and make-up, plus the consultation skills to recommend treatments and products clients can keep using at home. The course also covers the working side of the job: hygiene and safe work practices, salon transactions, selling retail skincare and cosmetics, and representing yourself well on social media. You finish ready to work fairly independently, planning treatments and choosing the right equipment and techniques for each client.
- Facial treatments and skin analysis
- Full body massage
- Waxing and hair removal
- Lash and brow treatments
- Manicures and pedicures
- Make-up design and application
Units of competency (20 core, 9 elective)
The qualification is made up of 29 units. Everyone completes the 20 core units below, and the remaining 9 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for SHBBBOS008…
Loading the details for SHBBBOS008…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Beauty Therapist

Beauty Therapist
Beauty therapists carry out facial, body, waxing and makeup treatments, usually one to one with a client in a treatment room.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,178
- Full-time share
- 47%
- Employment size
- 44,300 workers
- Average age
- 33 years
- Average full-time hours
- 41 hours
- Gender share
- 98% female
- Future growth
- +10.6%
- Job market
- In shortage (national)
Work within the treatment scope covered by the qualification; additional procedures may have separate requirements.
Where this fits
Diploma of Beauty Therapy in beauty: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
Before
Certificate IVCertificate IV in Beauty TherapyStep down from the diploma to focus on the treatments clients book most often, with skin and body structure behind each one, and finish working with limited supervision.Certificate IIICertificate III in Beauty ServicesStart here instead if you want a hands on role with no entry requirements, covering nails, waxing, lash and brow, basic make-up and cosmetic tanning.You are looking at
Diploma of Beauty Therapy
After
No later step listed.
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

