HomeCoursesAnimal careCertificate II in Animal Care
Certificate II in Animal Care
This is where most people start if they want to work with animals.
- Duration: 4 months to 21 months
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: ACM20121
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 28 campuses
- Duration
- 4 months to 21 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $4,920
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,120, concession $160
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Swinburne University of Technology
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students praise the facilities and campus, while some criticise organisation and admin for being frustrating, and opinions are mixed on course content. A number also mention student support and teaching positively or negatively.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 10 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students found the course content frustrating and the trainers and teaching lacking, and a number questioned the cost and value, while many value the student support, though opinions on the content are mixed.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in animals and their wellbeing
- a calm and gentle approach to handling animals
- good communication skills with supervisors and colleagues
- a willingness to follow routines and workplace safety rules
What will you learn?
You learn the daily routines that keep animals healthy and comfortable: feeding and watering them, cleaning and disinfecting their enclosures, and handling them calmly and safely. You also pick up the basics of spotting when an animal is unwell and helping with simple health care, along with the workplace safety and communication habits that support roles of this kind. The work is entry level and always done under supervision, so it suits school leavers and career changers who want a foot in the door at a shelter, boarding kennel, sanctuary or vet clinic.
- Feeding and watering animals
- Cleaning and hygiene routines
- Handling animals safely
- Basic animal health checks
- Workplace health and safety
- Talking with clients and colleagues
Units of competency (7 core, 5 elective)
The qualification is made up of 12 units. Everyone completes the 7 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for ACMGEN201…
Loading the details for ACMGEN201…
Where this fits
Certificate II in Animal Care in animal care: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
Before
No earlier step listed.
You are looking at
Certificate II in Animal Care
After
Certificate IIICertificate III in Animal Care ServicesMove up to a Certificate III to handle the day to day running of kennels, shelters and salons, with first aid, client contact and records. Can be done as an apprenticeship or traineeship.Certificate IVCertificate IV in Animal Behaviour and TrainingIf you already have hands-on animal care experience, this Certificate IV moves you into training and behaviour work, planning sessions and designing enrichment that supports welfare.Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

