HomeCoursesHairdressing and barberingCertificate II in Salon Assistant
Certificate II in Salon Assistant
This is a starting point for someone who wants to work in a hairdressing salon without yet training as a hairdresser.
- Duration: 2 months to 6 months
- Study mode: Online, on campus and workplace based
- Course code: SHB20216
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 25 campuses
- Duration
- 2 to 6 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $5,260
- Eligible students: subsidised from $880, concession $160
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 14 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $3,960
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,730, concession $1,165
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- Geelong City Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $4,389
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,838, concession $366
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- 14 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in helping people look and feel their best
- a friendly and welcoming manner with clients
- good communication skills for working in a team
- a careful approach to keeping tools and work areas clean
What will you learn?
You learn the everyday jobs that keep a salon running: shampooing and basin services, drying hair into shape, greeting clients and getting them ready for their appointment, handling payments and the till, and keeping tools and work areas clean and organised. Everything is done under the direct supervision of qualified hairdressers, so the focus is on doing routine tasks well and getting comfortable with salon routines and talking to clients. It prepares you for further training rather than for work as a hairdresser, and there are no entry requirements to start.
- Shampooing and basin services
- Drying hair into shape
- Greeting and preparing clients
- Salon payments and takings
- Cleaning and storing tools
- Workplace health and safety
Units of competency (8 core, 4 elective)
The qualification is made up of 12 units. Everyone completes the 8 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for BSBWHS201…
Loading the details for BSBWHS201…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

