HomeCoursesManufacturing and process operationsCertificate III in Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
Certificate III in Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
This trade qualification trains you to install, service and repair the refrigeration and air conditioning systems found in homes, shops, offices and food storage facilities.

- Duration: 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: UEE32225
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $16,980
- Eligible students: subsidised from $3,300, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

RMIT University
- Campuses
- 15 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Central Queensland University
- Campuses
- 18 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students praise the student support and campus facilities, while many found the organisation and admin frustrating and some had trouble with the enrolment process. Opinions are mixed on student support.
- Campuses
- Wangaratta - Docker Street
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Block release on campus
- Full fee
- $22,176
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
- Yes. Finishing this qualification meets the training requirements for a national Refrigerant Handling Licence, which is required to work on refrigeration and air conditioning equipment that carries the risk of a fluorocarbon refrigerant being emitted. Additional conditions may apply in some jurisdictions.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in how cooling and heating systems work
- a careful and safety focused approach to handling refrigerants
- good hand skills for pipework, fittings and electrical work
- problem solving skills for finding and fixing faults
What will you learn?
You learn to handle refrigerants safely, read and work from plans, run pipework and controls, and fault find on single and three phase motors, working through the electrical and safety rules that apply on site. Most people take it on as an apprenticeship, because the hands-on side has to be learned on real jobs under a contract of training. Finishing it meets the training requirements for a national Refrigerant Handling Licence, and with the restricted electrical units it covers the electrical work needed on most refrigeration equipment.
- Handling refrigerants safely
- Refrigeration pipework and fittings
- Installing and servicing air conditioning
- Medium and low temperature systems
- Fault finding and repairs
- Working from plans and diagrams
Units of competency (27 core)
Everyone completes these core units. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for UEECD0007…
Loading the details for UEECD0007…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Air Conditioning Technician

Air Conditioning Technician
Air conditioning technicians install, service and repair the systems that keep homes, offices and warehouses at the right temperature.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $2,100
- Full-time share
- 91%
- Employment size
- 29,700 workers
- Average age
- 31 years
- Average full-time hours
- 43 hours
- Gender share
- 1% female
- Future growth
- +6.7%
- Job market
- In shortage (national)
Trade qualification, usually done as an apprenticeship. To handle refrigerants you also need an ARC refrigerant handling licence, and some states require a further trade licence; the award alone does not confer these. This catalogue groups awards: verify the chosen provider, programme and intake; the family-level link is not confirmation that every offering is approved.
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

