HomeCoursesBuilding and constructionCertificate III in Carpentry
Certificate III in Carpentry
This is the trade qualification you work through as an apprentice carpenter, covering both residential and commercial building sites.

- Duration: 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode: On campus and workplace based
- Course code: CPC30220
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 36 campuses
- Duration
- 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $20,080
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,990, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Swinburne University of Technology
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students praise the facilities and campus, while some criticise organisation and admin for being frustrating, and opinions are mixed on course content. A number also mention student support and teaching positively or negatively.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

RMIT University
- Campuses
- 15 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 15 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
- Yes. You need general construction induction training before starting on site, and achieving CPCWHS1001 Prepare to work safely in the construction industry meets that requirement. Licensing requirements for working as a carpenter differ between states and territories, so consult the relevant state and territory regulatory authority to confirm them.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in building and construction work
- a careful approach to safety on site
- good hand skills and spatial awareness
- an ability to work well in a team
What will you learn?
You learn to read plans and set out a site, then build the frame: flooring, wall frames, ceiling frames, roof trusses, pitched roofs and eaves. The training then moves into finishing work such as windows and doors, external cladding, internal lining, panelling and timber external stairs, along with formwork, basic concreting and safe work at heights. Before you start on site you also need general construction induction training, and the licensing requirements for working as a carpenter differ between states and territories.
- Reading building plans
- Setting out a site
- Building wall and roof frames
- Installing windows and doors
- Formwork and concreting
- Working safely at heights
Units of competency (27 core, 7 elective)
The qualification is made up of 34 units. Everyone completes the 27 core units below, and the remaining 7 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPCCCA2002…
Loading the details for CPCCCA2002…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Carpenter

Carpenter
Carpenters build the frame that holds a building up, then fit the doors, floors, stairs and other timberwork inside it.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,760
- Full-time share
- 84%
- Employment size
- 104,900 workers
- Average age
- 31 years
- Average full-time hours
- 43 hours
- Gender share
- 1% female
- Future growth
- +10.9%
- Job market
- In shortage (national)
Complete the trade training and required apprenticeship/workplace arrangements, construction induction, and applicable state or territory licensing requirements. This catalogue groups awards: verify the chosen provider, programme and intake; the family-level link is not confirmation that every offering is approved.
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
