HomeCoursesBuilding and constructionCertificate III in Joinery
Certificate III in Joinery
Joinery is the trade behind the timber fittings in a building, and this qualification trains you to make and install them.
- Duration: 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode: On campus and workplace based
- Course code: CPC31920
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- Acacia Ridge
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- East Geelong Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $19,431
- Eligible students: subsidised from $3,496, concession $699
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Chadstone
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Trinity Institute (Australia)
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and the teaching highly, and many also value the student support. A number of students speak well of the course content.
- Campuses
- 7 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in working with timber
- good hand skills and a steady eye for detail
- a willingness to work safely at heights
- an interest in reading plans and measuring accurately
What will you learn?
You learn in a workshop and on site, using hand and power tools and static machines to cut, shape and assemble windows, doors, stairs and other components, then fit them into residential and commercial jobs. Reading plans, measuring accurately and working safely at heights run through all of it. It suits an apprenticeship pathway, which is how most people enter the trade.
- Reading plans and specifications
- Using carpentry tools safely
- Installing windows and doors
- Building straight flight stairs
- Making and assembling joinery components
- Setting up and running CNC machines
Units of competency (18 core, 11 elective)
The qualification is made up of 29 units. Everyone completes the 18 core units below, and the remaining 11 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPCCCA2002…
Loading the details for CPCCCA2002…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
